Day 9: Cubs and Videos

Today began by watching the film ‘Separado’ by Gruff Rhys to get a general idea of the project we would be doing for the next 2 weeks:

Tell a 90 second story about yourself on Premiere. To include stills, moving images and text.

At first I had no idea what I would base my little film on so I began thinking about things that were important to me. It just so happens that I was actually wearing my Cubs uniform that day – I am an assistant leader at my local Cubs pack and would be going straight there from college so I wouldn’t have had time to change. Anyway, this inspired me to base my film on my time volunteering in Cubs as it has been an important part of my life since I was 13.

For the rest of the morning and beginning of the afternoon I began to storyboard my ideas and plan out how I wanted my video to go. I was able to work out how long each clip would need to be and the general order of the video. For the rest of the afternoon I did a large A1 painting of the Cub salute which I may feature in my main video. The main reason I did this was actually to help me experiment with colours.

035

Dib Dib Dib

I kept within the same colour family to make a more complimentary and visually pleasing image. I quite like the end result as it is completely different to my usual style.

That evening I began to piece together some of the things I needed for my film. I took some photos of the Cubs and a few videos as well. I still haven’t got all the clips and photos that I need so I will continue next Thursday as well. I did, however, get the permission of the parents to include their child in the film so at least I achieved one thing.

177

Pack! Pack! Pack!

219

French Cricket

251

Wink Murder

249

Looks like a cult but it’s still Wink Murder

Leave a comment